Skip to content

Six of South Australia’s most famous sports media identities have been recognised with induction into the Adelaide Oval Media Hall of Fame.

Joining the inaugural crop of inductees from last year are:

  • Former West Adelaide premiership player and the longest serving sports editor in the history of The Advertiser, Merv Agars;
  • Former Advertiser sports photographer, Barry O’Brien;
  • Respected former cricket and football writer, Keith Butler;
  • South Adelaide icon and celebrated football commentator, Ian Day;
  • Geoff Kingston, former chief football writer at The Advertiser and member of the South Australian Football Hall of Fame; and
  • Ray Barber, whose distinguished media career spanned nearly four decades.

The six were inducted at a gala event held tonight at Adelaide Oval, with plaques detailing their achievements unveiled at the Media Hall of Fame installation outside the media centre on Level 4 of the Riverbank Stand.

Adelaide Oval SMA Chairman John Olsen AO said the inductions recognised the significant contributions all six had made to the coverage of sport in South Australia.

“Our state has a rich and celebrated sporting history, with legends and household names made here at the Adelaide Oval,” Mr Olsen said.

“The importance of the media in documenting this history cannot be understated, and our latest inductees embody the passion, commitment and professionalism the Media Hall of Fame seeks to acknowledge,” he said.

In addition, former AFL Chief Executive Officer Andrew Demetriou and former State Treasurer Kevin Foley were recognised for their combined efforts to bring football and cricket together again in the heart of Adelaide.

“The tireless and passionate work of both Kevin and Andrew in the early days of negotiations is the reason Adelaide Oval has become the icon it is today,” Mr Olsen said.

“In the face of stiff opposition, they were able to bring the AFL and Government to the table through sheer force of personality.”

The Adelaide Oval SMA Board established the following criteria for recognition in the Adelaide Oval Media Hall of Fame:

  • Individuals who have made a significant contribution to media coverage at Adelaide Oval over its history; and/or
  • Individuals who, through their craft, have brought significant recognition to South Australian football and/or cricket and the coverage of those sports; and
  • Have completed the greater part of their full-time working career.

It was also decided that primary recognition would be given to South Australian individuals but that this would not preclude a worthy recipient from beyond the State being inducted.

Selection of inductees was done in consultation with a specialist selection panel including inaugural inductees.

Media enquiries:

Elise Partington on 0417 875 126