Skip to content

Seven of South Australia’s most famous sports media identities have been recognised with induction into the new Adelaide Oval Media Hall of Fame.

The seven are:

  • Former State cricketer, SANFL umpire and media identity Ken ‘KG’ Cunningham;
  • Internationally-renowned cricket writer Mike Coward;
  • Advertiser photographer Ray Titus;
  • Gordon Schwartz, whose media career spanned more than three decades across print, radio and television;
  • Alan ‘Sheff’ Shiell, who turned a promising first-class cricket career into an outstanding media career;
  • Lawrie Jervis Jr, who was one of South Australia’s most distinguished football voices across 45 years; and
  • Legendary ABC radio voice Roger Wills.

The seven were inducted at a gala event held last night at Adelaide Oval in front of more than 200 invited guests. Plaques detailing their achievements were unveiled as part of the new Media Hall of Fame installation outside the media centre on Level 4 of the Riverbank Stand.

Adelaide Oval SMA Chairman John Olsen AO said the new Hall of Fame recognised the important contribution of the media.

“The sporting careers of many household names have been made on Adelaide Oval, and many of them are recognised in perpetuity around the Oval,” he said.

“However, their fame – and that of the Oval – would not have been possible without the passion, commitment and professionalism of the media across the years, from the earliest days of print and radio through to television and online coverage.

“The media has been a critical factor in the success of Adelaide Oval and it was with great pleasure that we decided to create the new Media Hall of Fame to recognise the contribution of some of our best known and most treasured media identities.”

The Adelaide Oval SMA Board established the following criteria for recognition in the Adelaide Oval Media Hall of Fame:
– Individuals who have made a significant contribution to media coverage at Adelaide Oval over its history; and/or
– Individuals who, through their craft, have brought significant recognition to South Australian football and/or cricket and the coverage of those sports; and
– Have completed the greater part of their full-time working career.

It was also decided that primary recognition would be given to South Australian individuals but that this would not preclude a worthy recipient from beyond the State being inducted.

Selection of the initial inductees was conducted by involving current SA media identities in a confidential nomination process. It is intended that the initial inductees will form the nucleus of a consulting selection panel for consideration of future recipients.