Skip to content

Adelaide Oval has been confirmed as the host venue for a coveted men’s semi-final and Australia is among the teams competing in six Super 12 stage matches at the ICC T20 World Cup in November next year.

Ten different men’s teams will play in the Super 12 games spread over six days and featuring two double-headers, before Semi-Final 2 is played under lights on 12 November.

SACA Chief Executive Officer Keith Bradshaw said:

“This is a tremendous result for South Australian cricket and for Adelaide as a host city.

“We are delighted to host so many of the men’s teams, including Australia, in what will be a week-long cricket bonanza at Adelaide Oval, starting with our Adelaide Strikers superstar Rashid Khan representing Afghanistan.

“To also be awarded a prized Semi-Final highlights the reputation of Adelaide Oval as a leading venue for cricket events, backed by magnificent support from the fans.”

South Africa will play Afghanistan at Adelaide Oval on Sunday 1 November to launch South Australia’s series of men’s games.

A blockbuster double-header on 3 November will start with world number one Pakistan against 2016 Champions West Indies, followed by Australia against a qualifying team under lights.

Additional matches featuring India and England, and a second match featuring South Africa, complete Adelaide Oval’s Super 12 matches.

Ticketing information for the men’s T20 World Cup will be confirmed later this year.

ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2020 (Adelaide Oval)

  • Sunday 1 November 2020: South Africa v Afghanistan (pm)
  • Tuesday 3 November: Pakistan v West Indies (pm)
  • Tuesday 3 November: Australia vs B2 (night)
  • Thursday 5 November: South Africa v A2 (pm)
  • Thursday 5 November: India v B1 (night)
  • Saturday 7 November: England v A2 (pm)
  • Thursday 12 November: Semi-Final 2 (night)

Note: If Australia qualifies for the semi-finals, Australia will play in Semi Final 1. If Australia does not qualify for the semi-finals, Semi-Final 1 will feature Winner Group 1 vs Runner Up Group 2, with Semi-Final 2 to feature Winner Group 2 vs Runner Up Group 1.