Adelaide Strikers New Year’s Eve clash to return for BBL|05

Adelaide Strikers New Year’s Eve clash to return for BBL|05

13 Jul 2015

Adelaide Oval will again be the place to be this New Year’s Eve, with the Adelaide Strikers hosting a blockbuster match in BBL|05 on 31 December.

Today’s BBL|05 fixture announcement has confirmed that the Adelaide Strikers will take on last season’s finalists, the Sydney Sixers on New Year’s Eve. The clash will be a rematch of last seasons semi-final when the visitors knocked the Strikers out of the BBL|04 finals series in front of a record Adelaide Oval crowd of 52,633.

The new Adelaide Strikers Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) side will open the night, playing a curtain-raiser match against the WBBL Perth Scorchers and fans will again be treated to a concert and lights show immediately after the game has finished.

“New Year’s Eve with the Strikers offers amazing value for money, with two T20 matches plus a post-match concert and plenty of giveaways for fans,” said Adelaide Strikers General Manager, Bronwyn Klei.

“Feedback from last year was overwhelmingly positive, from the double-header to the rock concert and we are working hard to make sure we do it bigger and better in BBL|05.

“Our attendances in BBL|04 were outstanding, including New Year’s Eve, which sold out at midday on the day of the match, so we are expecting this to be another massive night.”

The Adelaide Strikers will open their season with a Friday-night match against the Melbourne Stars on 18 December at Adelaide Oval and will also face the Perth Scorchers and Hobart Hurricanes at home in January.
The Adelaide Strikers have so far signed 11 of a potential 18 players for BBL|05, with player announcements expected in the coming weeks.

Adelaide Strikers BBL|05 so far: Jono Dean, Travis Head, Brad Hodge, Ben Laughlin, Tim Ludeman, Michael Neser, Kieron Pollard, Gary Putland, Kane Richardson, Alex Ross, Craig Simmons


BBL Fixture

Strikeforce membership renewals: Monday, 3 August

Strikeforce memberships on sale: Monday, 7 September

Tickets on sale: Tuesday, 20 October

Article courtesy South Australian Cricket Association